Managing Roles and Access

Workers have roles that determine what they can or can't do and see in the app. They have a band, which is used like a job title to indicate their specialisation and experience level. They can also have qualifications, which are used to track licenses and certifications that may be required to complete jobs. To learn more about roles and permissions you either watch the video here or continue reading below.

 

Default Roles/Permissions

In Telstra Trades Assist there are 3 default roles that can be assigned to a worker.   These roles are made up of permissions that determine the workers’ access within the app.

 

Global Admin

Global Admin is for the owner and any Admin who needs access to see and do everything in Telstra Trades Assist. You'll probably want to limit this to yourself and select team members who will need to change the pricing of parts and labour. A Global Admin is able to:

  • Manage Master Data
  • Manage users and system access
  • Manage Worker Profiles (availability, contact details etc)
  • Schedule all Jobs
  • View Workers’ Calendars
  • Approve Workers’ Quotes

 

Super User

Super user is for team members who don't need to change pricing but will be approving quotes and scheduling jobs for others in your business.  They are typically an administrator that is primarily office based and is able to:

  • Manage users and system access
  • Schedule all Jobs
  • View Workers’ Calendars
  • Approve Worker's Quotes
  • Invoice
  • Manage Inventory
  • Purchase Parts

 

Worker

Worker is for team members that will be doing the work, with the ability to start quotes but rely on super users or admins to approve and schedule their jobs. They are typically field based, receive and complete jobs and are able to:

  • Create their own Jobs
  • Create Quotes
  • Manage Assets

 

Accessing Roles and Permissions

  1. Click  from the Side Menu
  2. Click   from the expanded menu

 

Adding a Role

A role can represent anything you want, but typically they are named and created based on the level of access.  For example, a Global Admin is an administrator that can do anything (remember only the main account created when you signed up for Telstra Trades Assist can adjust the Business information), while an Apprentice could be set to only view and close their own jobs.  The choice is yours and can easily be adjusted if you need more or less access down the road.

As mentioned earlier, there are already some default rules you can use, delete or edit as you see fit.  However, let’s create a new role and set permissions for this role.  We’ve decided to make a role for our contractors.  We know they may come and go and we may not want them to have a lot of access.

  1. Click
  2. Enter a name for the new role.



  3. Turn permissions off or on by clicking  or , whichever fits your needs.  The permissions impact the workers' ability in the Admin Console and the App.



  4. Click to save the new role.

 

Tip: Just remember, you can always go back later and add or remove options.  For the example above, we only turned on three options:  Can view own notifications, View All Job/Quotes and Approve Job/Quotes.  We set notifications to all and both job/quote options to Own, which will allow our contractor to only view and approve their own jobs and notifications.

 

Editing a Role

You’ve realised that you’ve given someone more (or less) access than they need.  Our Contractor needs to be able to create a job/quote.  Click on the Role you wish to adjust and the system will automatically take you to that Role and show the permissions you selected previously.

  1. Click on the Role you wish to adjust.

  2. Click  or for whichever options you want to change. You can also click on the Worker Profile Name and change it if necessary.
  3. Click to save changes.

 

Deleting a Role

Did you have a contractor that you decided to hire?  No problem, change his/her role to another to give them more access.  Now, that Contractor role you created isn’t being used.  First, that’s not a problem. You can have many roles in Telstra Trades Assist, and there are no issues if you aren’t using most of them.  It gives you the flexibility later if you need it.  However, if you decide you do not need the role and can easily recreate it later.

    1. Click the  to the right of the role
    2. The system will prompt you to ensure you meant to click the delete and remind you which role it will be deleting. This will help ensure you don’t accidentally delete a role you need.

    1. Click if you are sure, or if you change your mind.  You cannot delete a role if it is in use.  The system will alert you if there is a problem or advise you if it was successful.

       

 

    1. Click to close the dialog box.

        

Tip: If there is an error, you will need to go back to your Workers and change the role of any worker using that role.  In other words, you still have a Contractor in the system.  Assign them to one of the other roles first.  Once the role is no longer in use, you will be able to delete it.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.